Select Page

Scherzo & Fanfare For Sym Orch – Sc – Sym Orch


Scherzo & Fanfare For Sym Orch – Set – AP-04015


SCHERZO AND FANFARE by Robert James Dvorak is an exciting work which bursts into fanfare near the end of the work. It was written in 1947 for his MA degree requirement from Chicago Musical College. “Scherzo and Fanfare” was the third and final movement of Robert Dvorak’s Symphony No. 1 (With the passage of time, the and contributing events in the composer’s life, the first two movements were set aside), the work he had submitted for his master’s degree in composition at the Chicago Musical College. It was written in the spring of 1946 following Dvorak’s return from military service in WW II. Prior to its final review by the faculty graduation committee, a piano performance by Dvorak was heard and approved by his composer team of Max Wald, guest compo er Alexander Tcherepnin and faculty member Gustav Dunkleberger. Later the work was finally apprroved and accepted by the official committee. This symphonic “Scherzo and Fanfare” is written in vigorous triple time and expresses Dvorak’s joy of being free at last and his eager anticipation of adventures in the world of music. Essentially it is monothematic with contrasting sections which evolve into buoyant fan fares to bring the music to an exciting close. Symphony Orchestra. Score. Grade: 5 Duration: 10:53

Background Notes are in the Resources tab.

Additional information

Catalog #

AP-04015 Sc




Release Date





There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Scherzo & Fanfare For Sym Orch – Sc – Sym Orch”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *